Daily Archives: September 7, 2011

I know what I ate last Friday

Standard

OMG. I think Friday’s dinner was one of the best meals I’ve ever had. So delicious. We ate every last bit. No leftovers.

I mentioned the other day that I love Smitten Kitchen – so much so that I’m subscribed to the email updates. The other day I stumbled upon a recipe for these delicious corn, buttermilk and chive popovers. I’ve been itching to try it out, and figured the popovers would work well with salad. I love salad, especially non-classic iceburg lettuce and a dressing salad.  (How boring). I like to mix up my salad with different textures and tastes – something smooth, something crunchy, and something tangy. I love fruit or fruit juice or lemon in my dressing.

popovers

I get hungry just looking at them!

My sister had told me about a delicious Cauliflower and Broccoli salad, with strawberries and a poppyseed dressing, so I figured I’d try out the salad myself. Well, no poppyseeds in the household means no poppyseed dressing. So I searched Smitten Kitchen, and found a yummy Broccoli slaw recipe, with a buttermilk dressing. I was very tempted to make the slaw, but I figure there’s another day to try out that recipe. Anyway, buttermilk dressing on the salad and some sliced almonds took care of the salad. Add hot popovers, with a pat of butter. Yum yum yum. Judge for yourself.

yum, salad

pre-application of dressing