Daily Archives: September 9, 2011

La Granada

Standard

La Granada

This is one of the prettiest lace projects I’ve knit up so far. The combination of yarn and design work together beautifully. The pattern is La Cumparsita by Marnie MacLean, and the yarn is Wollmeise 100% in Granatapfel. Hence the project name La Granada. I modified the bind off – I did a yo bindoff instead of the picot edge. I’m just not a friend of picot edges, including on sock cuffs. Too girly for me.

My aunt came for a visit when my Mom was first diagnosed with breast cancer – to help out both in the household as well as a mental support. She’s a doctor, so it was great for my mother to discuss matters from a medical point of view. I wanted to knit something for her as a thank you for all her help. I planned to knit a Pompa scarf for her but things were just too busy. So I decided to rehome this project and give it to her. She loves the color and all the lace work so I know this shawl is going to a good home where it’ll be appreciated.

La Granada shawl

up close