Daily Archives: April 24, 2012

Photography Challenge Day

Standard

On to day #2:

Day 2: April 24, 2012. Photography Challenge Day!
Today challenges you to be creative with your photography, and get yourself in with the chance to win the photography prize. Taking interesting photographs in this instance isn’t about flashy cameras or a great deal of technical know-how, it’s about setting up a story or scene in a photograph and capturing something imaginative. Your photograph(s) should feature something related to your craft, so that might be either a knitted or crocheted item, yarn, or one of your craft tools. One example of setting a scene would be to photograph a girl in a knitted red cape walking through the woodlands with a basket of goodies, as in the Red Riding Hood tale, or you might photograph a knitted gnome hiding among the flowers in your garden. Photo editing is permitted for competition photos. Here are a few examples of my own photographs to illustrate an imaginative use of photography, but you can do much better than these…

Among the reasons I started to fiddle around more with my camera were the beautiful photographs of finished objects by other Ravellers. You get a much better impression of what a finished object looks like when the photography is good – plus you’re more likely to favorite the projects. And good yarn pictures make life easier too – if you’re destashing the yarn at any point, you already have good pictures, and good yarn pictures are also helpful when trying to figure out what yarn will look good for your upcoming project.

My photography equipment used to include a little Canon Ixus, and my iPhone (3GS). But lately I really haven’t used my little Canon. The iPhone gets heavy usage – you always have a camera with you, and you can take very nice pictures with it. Plus you can place your focus where you’d like to, and it’s easy to adjust the brightness. I miss the zoom though – where did it go? Aaaaaaand I just googled that – and found out that I have to pinch to zoom instead of tapping the screen. Ugh. I really should have googled that before. I feel very very silly.

My current favorite camera to take better pictures is a Canon Eos 20D. It’s not the coolest and the latest, but it works just fine. It has plenty of functions that I’m still playing with, and I’ve gotten some really lovely pictures. My only quibble is that it uses CompactFlash cards instead of SD cards. This is the camera I use when I know I’m planning to take pictures around a certain topic or I’m going on a photography expedition, or when I’m trying to stage a shoot – nothing fancy, but whenever I want to concentrate on a specific topic/presentation. So this is the camera that I used for today’s photography challenge.

IMG_9384

The project is one that you’ve already seen as a Wip in past yarn along posts. It’s the Melody scarf that I knit out of Sundara fingering merino cashmere in French Lavender (as seen in yesterday’s post). I almost managed to make it to the South of France over Easter, but that plan was rained out (yup, literally as well). But maybe I’ll make it to the Provence in September – one of my (myriad) cousins is getting married in Nice and hopefully I’ll have enough time for a side trip. Til then I’ll be dreaming of the South of France – with a cup of tea, a few petit fours, a good book and some lavender to plant. Oh, and apparently this type of lavender is called butterfly lavender for the shape of its flowers.

IMG_9407

IMG_9387

Ok, to be honest, this photograph is staged specifically for today’s challenge. I originally thought to use my Color Affection shawl, with an Erin Go Bragh theme, since the shades of green in that shawl are pretty strong. I’ll still implement an shoot around that theme another time. But the lavender theme just offered itself up after I visited today’s farmer’s market. A stop at the local bakery was supposed to yield an eclair but instead led to petit fours instead. I was actually hoping for a pain de chocolat (chocolate croissant) or a chausson aux pommes (apple turnovers), but those, and those lovely miniature pastries that they have in France are probably only found in French bakeries…

IMG_9405

IMG_9390

So there you have my French themed photoshoot. If you’ve liked the photographs, and would like to nominate me for the photography challenge, here’s more information. As to my photoshoots, I’ve tried to stage more photography  involving my Impavido shawl or the orange scarf that you’ve seen in my past Yarn Along posts, and those photographs came out nicely. And in the past I’ve also tried to be creative when photographing older projects with a little theme, using my iPhone or little Canon Ixus, and some of those have come out quite nicely. I’ll leave you with a little collage of those projects for today:

The projects are:

so gosh darn cute baby booties; shroom, shroom baby rattle

Hatched! Easter egg; Otto

Azzuro shawl; pocket owl

Little Robin; Bunny!