Bummed

Standard

Knitting and Crochet Blog Week is over, but that doesn’t mean you can’t still have fun with it! The Friday challenge was the day where people put up all kinds of creative posts on the topic “Something a bit different.” Here is the exact wording of the challenge.

It’s back, and this time it has the most amazing of prizes (look for the prize for ‘most creative post’). This was a massive success last year, and for many it was the highlight of the Blog Week, so this year you are challenged, again, to find a new way of blogging.This is an experimental blogging day to try and push your creativity in blogging to the same level that you perhaps push your creativity in the items you create.There are no rules of a topic to blog about but this post should look at a different way to present content on your blog.

I talked about about my favorite posts from this year’s Knitting and Crochet Blog, and the photography nominations about two weeks ago. And now the creative post nominations are up. 10 posts are nominated, and they’re all great nominations. They include a bunch of my favorite posts, and a few new to me posts. Take a look – all of the posts are very very creative.  So – if you’d like to vote for any of the posts, go here. Voting end on Sunday, at midnight British Standard Time.

I have to say, I really had a lot of fun during this year’s Knitting and Crochet Blog Week. It was responsible for me getting back into a blogging groove. Before it, I was blogging rather occasionally – I was trying to get at least one blog post a week in. And now I’ve actually joined NaBloPoMo, and half-way through May, I can say that I’ve actually managed to continue blogging every day. I’ve also been trying to intersperse my crafting blog posts with food and photography posts.  The different topics have inspired other blog posts – for example the photography challenge made me think about knitting waves for the soap stone boat I’d made for Mother’s Day, and then I took that idea and ran with it:

Given that, I’m kind of bummed I didn’t make it into the creative post nominations. It’s not about the prizes – they’re great, but honestly, I’ve been trying to stash down. It’s also not that I don’t wish the nominated bloggers. Au contraire, they all did a great job. There’s no whose place I think I should take. I just wish that there were 11 spots and that I’d make into that spot. Hence the title to this post.

BUT – ultimately I put up the post for myself. It was all up to me what I’d do, and I chose to challenge myself. I learned how to do stop motion animations, and how to have lots of fun while doing it. Yes, it’s a lot of work, but no one made me do it. I remember all the work when I look at the video, but also all the fun. I love the feedback, but I think I get the biggest kick out of that video:

So, no pity party for me. In the end, we blog first and foremost for ourselves. Or more correctly, I blog for myself. Yes, I have things to share, but I would run out of things to say if I only posted for others. I ultimately blog about things that interest me, things I like, things that make me think, and things I enjoy. Yes, we hope for an audience, and we’re glad to have followers, and subscribers and likes. But it’s about what I have to say. And there’s where an audience comes in. If you’re genuine in what you have to say, then other’s will realize it too. That’s what makes you interesting to others, I’d say.

That concludes the reflective part of today’s post. I hope you have fun on this blog. I’d love to hear from you, but as always that’s up to you. Happy blogging everybody!

8 responses »

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more … I’m thrilled when I get comments on my blog and people share their thoughts. Ultimately, I blog because I have stuff to say and want to be a part of the larger crafting community. Your two videos are wonderful — you have such a whimsical touch.

  2. Blogging for yourself can be such a powerful experience, I definitely know what you mean. I loved the creativity and time that you put into blog week, it really showed! I also agree that you are a very genuine blogger, your voice really comes though and certainly got me to read along! Wonderful job, keep up the good work!

    • Thank you! I feel like I’m getting better and better at blogging, and at writing what I like to read. I prefer posts with visual interest as well as text, it makes reading posts more interesting. Thank you on the feedback!

  3. I was SO annoyed when I didnt see your post up there!! Seriously! And while all the nominated posts were creative, and we could all be nice and diplomatic, at the end of the day yours kicked most of those other’s butts. I am truly annoyed :(

    • Awww, thanks! I wonder how they chose the posts? But hey, at least I had fun, and I know I’ll be making more of those videos. I’m planning to make one for my Gran’s 90th birthday – I know she’ll get such a kick out of it

  4. Pingback: Help! Weaving your floats « Knitting, reading, photography, and maybe more

  5. Pingback: Hoppity Hop « Knitting, reading, photography, and maybe more

Share your thoughts

