Crafting along

Standard
Crafting along

Hello! It’s Wednesday, so it’s time to check in and see what’s going on with my knitting. I have put in some more time on my Indian Red scarf, and if I can get in some more knitting time then I’ll actually manage to finish the scarf over the course of the next week. I really want to get some of my wips finished up, so another finished object will be very very exciting. And have I mentioned how much I like the construction? It’s so unusual! I’m sure it’ll drape just great around my neck.

Apart from my Indian Red scarf, I’ve also started a new project. I’m making another pair of Germany socks, this time for my nephew (the junior one), just in time for the Euro 2012. This one will knit up quickly – baby socks are so much fun, since you can whip them up so quickly. Actually, that’s true for any type of baby projects. I’m knitting this pair of socks 2 at a time, on two circular needles. I used Judy’s Magical Cast On since that’s my preferred method of toe-up knitting. I did the toes each individually, and now I’m put them on the needles together. I just couldn’t figure out how to do the JMCO cast on for both socks at the same time.

The remainder of the socks will be a spiral – k4, p4 for four rows, then shifting by a stitch, and so on. I know that sounds weird – I’ll take some more detailed photographs to make it clearer. The socks will basically be knit like the spiral socks I knit before, except that those were knit cuff down. The great part of that construction is that you don’t have to worry about fitting the heel – the spiral fits around your heel. Of course, you could still knit a heel, but the whole point of the spiral socks is that it’s a super easy way to make sure the socks fit, without actually doing any fitting. And I figure that knitting the socks as spiral socks will make sure that they’ll fit the munchkin longer. I’ll knit the socks until I complete two set of stripes – I’ll have complete sets of the flag that way.

Oh, and as to reading? My reading is currently limited to street signs, baby picture books, and a few blogs. There’s just so much going on that I’m just not getting around to actually reading. Oh, and then there’s the occasional Curious George story, of course.

Now for the blog hop part: I’m linking up with this week’s Yarn Along, this week’s Tami’s Amis WIP Wednesday, through Ambassador Crochet’s Wip Wednesday and Frontier Dreams’ Keep Calm and Craft on (KCCO) blog-a-long. Check out some of the other awesome wip posts.

Featured image is a magnet from I love my shirt

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: What’s up, Wednesday? « Knitting, reading, photography, and maybe more

Share your thoughts

