Where are they now?

2nd annual Knitting and Crochet Blog Week

Day 4’s theme:

Day Four: 31st March. Where are they now?

Whatever happened to your __________?

Write about the fate of a past knitting project. Whether it be something that you crocheted or knitted for yourself or to give to another person. An item that lives with you or something which you sent off to charity.

There are a lot of different aspects to look at when looking back at a knitting project and it can make for interesting blogging, as much of the time we blog about items recently completed, new and freshly completed. It is not so often that we look back at what has happened to these items after they have been around for a while.

How has one of your past knits lived up to wear. Maybe an item has become lost. Maybe you spent weeks knitting your giant-footed dad a pair of socks in bright pink and green stripes which the then ‘lost’. If you have knit items to donate to a good cause, you could reflect on the was in which you hope that item is still doing good for it’s owner or the cause it was made to support.

Past projects – for me, they consist of gifts, WIPs, hibernating projects, and things that I’ve knit for myself. So let’s take a look back:

    • The Shaun the Sheep mobile for my nephew (see the Tale of Two Yarns post). It’s placed right over my nephew’s changing table, and has provided him with endless amusement. Originally my sister asked me to knit the sheep in different colors, but in the end the black and white of the sheep (apart from the sheep’s accessories) is better for babies, since they can see strong contrast colors better. The thing is, the mobile was so loved until Shirley, the big fat sheep in the middle got pulled off. Well, at least that’s easily fixed.

      sheep from Shaun the Sheep
      Shirley detached
    • Burgundy. This is a dress I knit for my goddaughter. It’s really pretty but the weight of the dress is stretching out the seed stitch section. So her mom asked me to fix that on the dress, and I’ve instead decided to frog the dress and knit up it up in a different design – the Kenna button top. I have the perfect buttons for this dress and I’ll be posting about them in the embellishments post.

      child's sun top
      Burgundy
    • Shades of Grey Wurm hat. This hat has gotten a lot of use this winter. I saw a few multi-colored Wurm version, so I decided to knit one in light and dark grey. I love it and wear it whenever it is colder. Plus this hat really fits me – most hats look silly on me or slide off.

      wurm hat
      Wurm hat
    • Amoroso. This is a cowl knit in Malabrigo Silky Merino in the colorway Amoroso for my mom. It’s soft and warm, and my mom loves it. Or should I say loved it. Cause she decided to wash the cowl, stuck it in the washing machine, and the result is a felted cowl that doesn’t fit over her head. Sigh. I’m working on a replacement cowl for her. And I’ve carefully explained how important the proper care is for handknit projects.
Amoroso Herringbone Cowl
Amoroso - pre-felting

So that’s it for today. As always, if you’re interested in more of my knitting shenanigans, you can find me on Ravelry, username anji. And if you’re interested in seeing other posts on the topic ‘A Tale of Two Yarns’ from other bloggers who’ll be blogging today on this topic, just search on Google (or another search engine) for the tag 2KCBWDAY4, and on Twitter #2KCBW.

2 thoughts on “Where are they now?

  1. Must admit, I love the sheep mobile, too!

    How universal – I think everyone’s got a story of knit gone to felt, and not the intentional way. 🙂 I’m certain your mom knows the drill now.

Share your thoughts

