Daily Archives: May 12, 2011

(Rhu)babarella

Standard

To say that I love rhubarb would be an understatement. I don’t think there’s a preparation of rhubarb that I don’t enjoy. In fact, I love rhubarb so much that finding a skein of yarn named Rhabarber is what set me off to discover what dyer had named yarn after my favorite rhubarb which has led to my love of Wollmeise. I mean, see for yourself:

Wollmeise yarn

Wollmeise Fluffy in Rhabarber

Since it’s rhubarb season right, now, I’ve been busy preserving rhubarb for the non-rhubarb season. I’ve made rhubarb-strawberry compote, rhubarb-apple jam, rhubarb-strawberry jam, rhubarb-berry jam and rhubarb syrup.

rhubarb jam, compote, syrup

rhubarb heaven: jam, compote and syrup

The rhubarb syrup is in the middle bottle. You can see how the rhubarb makes for a lovely pink toned syrup. It is especially delicious when you add it to your glass of water – really refreshing.

I’d already posted about this dessert: vanilla yoghurt with rhubarb-strawberry compote – yum (not my best photography job, sorry)!

dessert

rhubarb-strawberry compote with vanilla yoghurt