Elijah

I bet you’re asking yourself – where is all the knitting? After all I’ve been putting up a bunch of pictures and craft related posts. But I’ve still been knitting – not a lot as you can see in last month’s knitting yardage, but I do have some FOs to post.

Meet Elijah:

IMG_4381
Elijah

He’s a present for my friend Aarti’s baby, Arjun. Elephants are a symbol of luck in India, particularly elephants with a raised trunk. To make the trunk flexible, I inserted pipe cleaners wrapped with stuffing. That way the trunk can be bent into any shape desired, and it’ll stay up way better than blocking the trunk into shape.

I used Rowan Pima Cotton DK – a lovely soft cotton yarn that can easily be washed over and over again, which can be expected with a baby toy. And I used felt circles for the eyes – I’ve never been happy with the result of french knots as eyes. I’d also recommend to be careful with stuffing the limbs – if they’re overstuffed they’ll only point away from the body and Elijah will have a hard time sitting. So the join to the body should only be stuffed lightly.

I’ve knitted two other Ysolda toy patterns in the past – an Otto polar bear and a Sophie bunny – but this one was my favorite. I had a hard time parting with it. Fortunately I have enough yarn for another Elijah. Then again I’ve already received requests for another Elijahs. Decisions, decisions…

IMG_4385
Elijah up close
Share your thoughts

