Pasta Paradiso Perduto

I ♥ Mario Batali. I miss Molto Mario, his show on Food Network. He was on the Next Iron Chef for a while, but I don’t think he cooks there anymore (right? Correct me if I’m wrong). I love his Pasta recipes – although I once made a recipe of his that called for hazelnuts in a simple tossed pasta version, and that just didn’t work for me. I’m guessing though that the fault lay with me, since my hazelnuts likely weren’t fresh enough. Of course I can’t find the recipe now. Sigh.

Anyway, back to the topic at hand. We made this pasta together with a roasted tenderloin for my father’s 65th birthday. We decided on this pasta recipe because we had radicchio on hand and didn’t want to make a radicchio salad. Despite some initial skepticism the dish worked out perfectly (we used fettucine). The lemon lights the bitterness of the radiccio, and you really should ‘cook’ the radicchio too much, otherwise it wilts and looks sad. But it still tastes delicious. It’s become a go-to pasta for us.

lost paradiso
the radicchio has wilted too much, but it's still yummy

Share your thoughts

