Split Pea Umaro

When I started knitting, I went around offering various family members to knit up something for them, whatever they’d like. That was when my queue was short and when I didn’t know what to knit next. (For the record, my queue is currently 37 38 pages long). And my knitting skills were just in their infancy.

My cousin asked for blanket. That was it. No guideline or anything – no choice on colors, lace or no lace, machine washable or not. At that point of time I got most of my knitting patterns from Lion Brand – I hadn’t yet discovered Ravelry. So the original plan was to knit a blanket out of Lion Brand Handspun – the reviews were good, and hey, machine washable is always good. That was before I actually knit out something out of the Handspun (btw, the name is so ironic – it’s not even remotely similar to handspun yarn), and before I really learned how to look at Ravelry project notes. And suddenly I had a world of patterns at my fingertips. Plus a pile of yarn I didn’t want to knit up.

Fortunately I was able to rehome the yarn during my destash. But I’d completely forgotten about my promise to knit something for him until a few weeks ago, when he asked me where his blanket was. I figured it would make the perfect engagement/wedding present for him and his girlfriend/fiancee. We decided on BrooklynTweed’s Umaro pattern, in Quince and Co Puffin, colorway Split Pea, to match their shagalicious carpet.

I haven’t knit with Quince and Co’s yarns before but the reviews look good. It’s a single ply, and it’s pretty durable, although it didn’t withstand the toddler test. What is the toddler test? Well, it’s when a toddler is trying to help me knit by pulling on the yarn, and me pulling in the other direction. But it’s ridiculously easy to join – spit join – so that was easily fixed. That also means that there are no ends to weave in – yay!

Since it isn’t machine washable, it’ll be somewhat more difficult to take care off. And I’ll be blocking the finished project, to show off the pattern better. Still, it’s bulky yarn so that means it’s pretty gratifying to see the blanket grow.

I’ve been busy knitting up a bunch of other projects, especially hats, and I still need to figure out my January project for the Wollmeise for 12 month challenge will be. (Yup, I know I only have a few days left til February). I have some time since the wedding is in October, but I still want to pick up the project soon since I don’t want to be knitting a heavy bulky weight project when it’s hot outside. Time to tackle my wip (Ravelry project link is here)!

green blanket

better than pea soup

3 Comments

Share your thoughts

