What to do with…?

I’ve been part of the 10 shawls in 2010 group for a while – so long that the group moved to 11 shawls in 2011 and now 12 shawls in 2012. I haven’t managed to reach the group goal in any of the past years, although I’ve given it a good try. It’s just that there are so many other things to knit up, plus requests, gifts, and so on.

So I’m trying to figure out my which projects I absolutely want to knit this year, especially since I’m participating in the 12 Wollmeise in 12 month KAL. I figure this is the perfect opportunity to match some of the yarn and yarn colors I love with patterns that have been lingering in my queue.

The problem is, what would I do with all those shawls? I’ve already distributed some of the FOs among friends and family, and there are some people that I’ll be knitting for. And I do want to gift shawls to people where I feel they’ll really appreciate them. But beyond that, really, how many shawls can I wear? I’m the kind of person to stick with one accessory for a long time. I have a favorite cowl – hello, American Apparel – that isn’t even handknit, and a favorite handbag that I use all the time. I have a few finished shawls that are lingering in their accessory box. And I’d hate for shawls to sit in a pile, unappreciated.

What do you do with all those shawls that you knit?

2 Comments

  1. I find I don’t knit as many shawls specifically for this reason- I just don’t wear them that much, usually with lighter jackets in the spring and fall, and sometimes with a dressy dress if it looks appropriate. But they aren’t’ exactly everyday things to wear. But then again, what is!

    Reply

    1. True – and I find the smaller lace shawls very inconvenient to wear. I mean, if I can’t even get it to wrap around my shoulders or neck, then that’s to short.

      On the other hand, I find caplets and cowls way more convenient and useful.

      Reply

Share your thoughts

