Mmmmm, donuts

I sound like Homer Simpson. But DCist (ok, all those _ists out there) have this post out on how to make your own donuts. Tempting, so tempting…

I so totally want to make donuts. But I expect that they warm and melty and delicious like Krispy Kreme donuts. I mean, who doesn’t love a Krispy Kreme donut that’s just hot and fresh, and melts in your mouth? Heaven! I remember the world before I discovered Krispy Kreme and I used to – very rarely – go to Dunkin Donuts. In fact, I recently bought a few donuts there to bring as dessert to a friend’s last minute dinner get together – and we were all horribly disappointed. They were dry and hard and, oh, just terrible. Is it just me, or does Dunkin Donuts really not make good donuts any more? Are they all about the coffee now?

Then there’s the beignet version. I haven’t had any – heresy, I know – but I’ve heard great and delicious things about them. I’m sure there are great ones and not so great ones out there. Btw, did you know that they’re the official state doughnut of Louisiana? I didn’t even know that there’s such a thing as a state donut!

Berliner

Germany has its own donut version: the Berliner, the jelly filled version, and Krapfen, non jelly filled. The Berliner is typically filled with raspberry, red current, plum or strawberry jam, or some mix of that, while the Krapfen is the dough by itself, which is then deep fried, although there are also apple versions, which include apples in its dough. The dough is a sweet yeast dough, and the finished Berliner/Krapfen is typically dusted with sugar or powdered sugar. You’ll find especially in the days – ok weeks – leading up to Fasching, aka carnival or Mardi Gras. Nowadays you’ll also find newfangled versions filled with pudding or even ‘black forest’ versions with cherries and whipped cream.

Btw, I always found President Kennedy famous speech “Ich bin ein Berliner” rather hilarious, at least when I was a child, because it basically translates to “I am a jelly filled donut.” Yes, I know it is meant to show his solidarity with the West German people, particularly those of Berlin. But it still makes me chuckle.

Oh, and all for all those Simpson lovers out there:

One Comment

Share your thoughts

