I’m not Cap’n Crunch

Hello all you people who visit looking for the food part of this blog. I know, I’ve neglected you for the last few weeks. So, since I haven’t put up a post for you guys in a while, I thought I’d share one of my current favorites –  broccoli slaw. Yum. Crunchy broccoli, sharp onions (ok, they’re shallots), toasty almonds and sweet cranberries. And buttermilk dressing. What more could be better? I think this is my favorite way to eat broccoli, closely followed by steamed broccoli with lemon and garlic. Only disadvantage is that your breath will be rather oniony afterwards. In the interest being considerate to your fellow humans, you should brush your teeth or ate least suck on a cough drop. Btw, I’m not a fan of mayonnaisy dressings. I think they end up making a dressing so heavy, plus mayonnaise spoils so quickly if you make your own or buy the organic kind. I generally substitute yoghurt for mayonnaise, especially in dressings. Apart from that, iI you want to make any other substitutions, I think you could use pickled spring onions instead, and you could use pomegranate arils, both fresh or dried instead of the cranberries. And you could obviously easily substitute cauliflower for broccoli. But I like it just the way it is.

Why yes, that is a Brezel in the background. Brezel and broccoli slaw, what more could you want?

I’m also still looking for a great cabbage slaw with fresh apples and without carrots. And one that’s not made on a mayonnaise basis. In my opinion is makes the slaw soggy, and who wants a soggy slaw? That defeats the whole purpose of slaw. If you have a recipe you’d like to share let me know!

Btw, there were rumors that Cap’n Crunch is retired? I never ate it, but it’s almost like a childhood institution being retired, like Lucky Charms or Snap, Crackle and Pop, or even worse, Tony the Tiger. (Shhh, don’t tell anyone, but I occasionally crave – and eat – a bowl of Frosted Flakes. Yay for childhood).

One thought on “I’m not Cap’n Crunch

  1. […] I’m not Cap’n Crunch (knitreadclick.wordpress.com) 0.000000 0.000000 Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Filed under diy, family, get crafty, kiddos, teacher ideas and tagged Broccoli, Business, Cook, Fruit and Vegetable, gift cards, gift ideas, Home, James Hopwood Jeans, Karie, Olive oil, pinterest, Starbucks, Target Corporation, teacher appreciation, Tory Burch | Leave a comment […]

Share your thoughts

