Clean Up

Do you ever spend time cleaning up your blog? Yes? No? I’m not sure if it’s worth the effort or if I’m spending unnecessary blogging time fixing old posts that most people probably never look at. It just bugs me to see an older post where the image links are broken. And now that I’ve been adding featured images to my posts I’d like older posts to have that addition too. Btw, for all of you WordPress users out there: Are you able to add featured images by adding an URL to an image? Somehow it just doesn’t work for me – I don’t get the featured image option. But if I upload an image from my computer then it works. Weird.

Sometimes perfectionist tendencies make your life harder – and most of the time no one notices. I mean, in the end I’ll be a happy camper, and I’ll appreciate the way things are consistent throughout the blog. But I know that along the way I’ll be cursing myself for making my life harder. Apart from fixing the images and the like, I really want to fix my tags and my categories. Right now I have way too many tags. Some of them have only been used once. And it’s really better to have only something between 5 to 10 tags – that’s one of the WordPress suggestions to get more traffic.

I also just added the Zemanta blogging assistant. I saw it show up under the screen options on my WordPress new post page. I’m trying to figure out how this works… I don’t really see much difference to my posts with it. Instead I would like to add Link Within widget but on WordPress you can only add it if your blog is self-hosted. Boo.

Ultimately I want to move the blog to its own domain so the cleanup does have a purpose. I’m thinking about moving the blog to a new domain – and use the move to update the blog’s name. Knit Read Click somehow makes me think of Eat Pray Love, or the knitting store Eat Sleep Knit. Something I didn’t consider when picking out the blog’s name.

I guess I could take the easy way out and change the blog to Knit Eat Click. But I still would rather have a different name altogether.There are already so many great knitting blogs out there, it’s hard to come up with an original name. If you have a name suggestion I’d love to hear your idea.

5 thoughts on “Clean Up

  1. I spent hours of my time cleaning up my old blog posts (I had 681 of them on another site) ! I think it is so difficult keeping everything looking uniform when one is learning as you go along, also I used to be addicted to changing the look of the blog all the time, now I have bought a premium theme on my new blog so it has to stay that way (but I bought a CSS upgrade so I am constantly tweaking!).

    A good name is very important and one that stands out even if it is a little quirky – I have people tell me they have clicked on my blog as the name intrigued them!

    you can make a ‘link within’ yourself, it only takes a little time, you can upload and insert a few thumbnails or even just the title and set the link to another of your posts, no problem – as WP gives you the drop down of your posts to link to – I have done this before.

    Eat Sleep Knit is a great name – something like that is very catchy – you do not have to move the blog to get your own domain name, just purchase it and point it to this existing blog – WP can do all that for you.

    I would look on your stats and see which posts get the most views and then tweak them, don’t give yourself a hard time and go through all of them, as it becomes like a never ending process that you will never finish 😉

    Louisa

  2. How incredible to read your blog post today as I’m also in the midst of updating my blog. I’m at the “planning” stage and while I know what you mean about feeling like you’re spending too much time working on this, in the end, I think it’ll be worth it. After all, our blogs represent a part of our identity and I always want to put my best face forward! Good luck and have fun.

    • Yes exactly! I’ll know the progress I’ve made, even though no one else may care. But the longer I wait, the more work there’ll be get things updated. Thanks for your comment!

  3. I think coming up with a name is just about the hardest part these days; it seems all the good names are already taken! I like your blog name; nothing wrong with being thought of in the same sentence with Eat Sleep Knit… 🙂

    Before I moved my blog to my own space, I was terrified I was going to lose posts (I didn’t), so I began trying to back up the oldest posts. It was time consuming and tedious because before I began self-hosting, I didn’t have the option to go back and edit posts older than just a few weeks. Now I have access to everything I’ve ever written, and I could go back and tweak easily. But do I??? No! I’m ashamed to admit I don’t put enough time into that kind of administration, even though I know I need to.

    One day…

    • Oh, backing up is a good idea! I haven’t even thought of that.

      The more I hear, the more I’m sure that self hosting is the way to go. Did you do the hosting through WordPress, or did you purchase your domain and then do the mapping upgrade?

Share your thoughts

