A workout kind of post

It really is a problem when your workout affects you knitting. Sometimes I’m so sore that my arms hurt when I’m knitting. Ow. But really, knitting should count as a workout on it’s own. After all, if you’re knitting a bulky project, you’re definitely hauling around a mass of yarn. I remember knitting blankets, and once you hit a certain point, you’re handling a significant amount of weight on your knitting needles and thus on your arms. That’s where circular needles are waaaay better than straight needles.

Like many other people, I’m not a fan of going to the gym. It’s the going part that’s hard. I have to drag myself there, and I’ll be constantly whining in my head that I could totally use a day off. Or I could work in a yoga practice, and that would be just as good. I hate running, so that one is out (too much impact on my ankles and my knees).

iPod and working out
From CollegeHumor – they have a whole series of funny realistic gym workout diagrams

Once I do start working out, and I’m in the groove, I’m ok. A big part of that is that I’ve started listening to audiobooks while working out. That way I’m not constantly looking at the display, counting down every second. Instead I’m invested in a story, and it’s a great way to ‘read’ with your ears. And in the end, I remember that I actually do feel better when I’ve gotten some cardio exercise in.

I don’t want to knock Pilates or Yoga or other forms of exercise. I’ve tried both, and they’re great. Most of my Pilates experience has been on the machines, and boy, you get a whole new appreciation of your ab muscles. I’ve mostly gone to yoga classes, some of which I liked more than others. I really think the teacher makes or breaks the class. I’m now trying to work in a daily yoga practice of sun salutations…

I also play audiobooks during strength training. The thing is, I really need some kind of strap to hold my iPhone. Right now I’m currently wedging it against the workout bench – which is how it dropped and kind of damaged my headphones. Goshdarnit! So now I do have to replace my headphones though – the stop/play button on my headphones doesn’t seem to work anymore. I’m contemplating investing in a an iPod Shuffle or Nano since you can just clip them on, and I don’t have to worry about water damage to my iPhone.

I love when late spring eases into summer, and the weather gets consistently warmer. There are all those great things of summer to enjoy – sunshine, hanging out with friends outside, salad, ice cream, the prospect of a vacation, light and breezy clothing, and so on. But, summer also means summer tops and sleeveless tees. Yeah.  You’re showing of your arms.

If your happy with your arms, yay for you. But me, I’m not happy with them. I have really good arm strength, but I would love to have skinnier arms. More correctly – arms that are more toned. The tailor in India being surprised at the size of my arm muscles when measuring me for a sari blouse, and my Mom telling me to be careful during Karate training so my arms wouldn’t be so big. I’m not a body builder, and my arms are pretty normal, apart from their flabbiness, but a lot of young Indian women have ridiculously skinny arms.

I’m always on the lookout for good arm exercises to help with arm muscle toning and definition. So when I came across this Summer Arms Challenge the other day, I just had to share it with you. I think the workouts are doable, and they don’t look like they take up a lot of time. Want to join me? Or do you have your own workout suggestions? I’d love to hear from you.

Pin is from Zippy Pins – they have all kinds of awesome knitting and other craft themed pins. I’m going to have to get some for my project bags

Share your thoughts

