We can work it out

It’s Wednesday! That means it’s another Yarn Along day. Well, this past week has been a mix of knitting, blogging, and everyday life. I spent some time hanging out with my friends and my god-daughters, hanging out at the grandparents garden, way outside of the city. I’d hoped to get some good knitting time in, hanging out in the sunshine but instead I was occupied with kids, who had a blast. Have you ever seen two kids competing to get into a hammock at the same time? No? Well, it’s pretty hilarious.

I’d hoped to get more knitting done this past week – remember that knitting marathon? I’ll have a post up in a few days on how I did. I’ve made some progress on my Indian Red scarf. I’m now on section D-E-F-G. You basically knit all those sections at the same time, some in garter stitch, some in stockingette and some in reverse stockingette, and as you go you increase or decrease the sections. It’s a very unusual construction, but now I can kind of see how this will work out.

May 30, 2012 Yarn Along

I need a plane read, and since they really don’t like you reading an ebook during take-off and landing, I was looking for a paperback. I’ve started reading “The Omnivore’s Dilemma” by Michael Pollan – I’m just at the beginning, but it’s a really interesting read. The subtitle is “A natural history of 4 foods” – he looks at the food production of four different foods. It’s a very interesting at the food industry, looking at food chains from beginning to end, tracing what we eat. He asks ‘What should we have for dinner’ – a simple question, but which becomes more and more complicated. Hence the omnivore’s dilemma. I’m looking forward to reading more – I’m sure it’ll be interesting, shocking and disenchanting at the same time.

May 30, 2012 yarn along - close-up of the Indian Red scarf

Now for the blog hop part: I’m linking up with this week’s Yarn Along, this week’s Tami’s Amis WIP Wednesday, through Ambassador Crochet’s Wip Wednesday and Frontier Dreams’ Keep Calm and Craft on (KCCO) blog-a-long. Check out some of the other awesome wip posts.

As you might have guessed, the post title is inspired by “We Can Work It Out” by the Beatles.

8 thoughts on “We can work it out

    • Thank you! Yes, the construction really is interesting – when I started section C & D, I was trying to figure out how it would all work out, and how I could lengthen it. I think it’s not that easy, the way the scarf is designed, but I can always block it into shape

    • My Year of Meat? Oh, I’m going to have to look that one up. I saw Fast Food Nation, and that was enough to make you wonder what is actually in your burger – and how the large scale butchering operations actually work

  1. I’m in love with the color of your scarf … gorgeous. I’ve got Pollan’s book on my shelves and keep meaning to read it. I’m completely fascinated by the food industry and the more honest books about what we eat, the better off we’ll all be!

    • Yes, absolutely! We need to know more about our food – and the international aspects are really interesting too. The way that commodity prices of grains like rice and corn affect countries in Africa, for example

  2. I love Michael Pollan’s books, he is such an interesting person and his books are always very enlightening. That red is so vibrant and pretty, love it!

Share your thoughts

