Scrambled eggs

Scrambled eggs should be such an easy thing to make, right? I imagine it’s one those first-time-cooking kind of things. (I can’t remember what my first cooking thing was, my early kitchen experiments revolved around baking). You don’t need a lot of ingredients, you don’t a lot of utensils, it’s seems pretty straightforward, plus you’ll likely have eaten it before so you know how your finished product should taste.

Scrambled Eggs Super! Now, making a scrambled egg is different from making a great scrambled egg. A scrambled egg that is still fluffy and light, that isn’t dry and brown. It can incorporate other subtle flavors from herbs or cheese etc, without tasting too heavy or overladen. I remember Gail Simmons from Top Chef commenting on the difficulty to make a good egg that’s at just the right stage – cooked enough but still soft, and not rubbery. Of course, the chefs there had to cook under way more difficult circumstances over a fire pit on the beach (Season 2, Episode 7).

Sadly, I belong to those people whose scrambled eggs and omelets aren’t that great. There’s something about too much uncooked egg that makes me nauseous. I love me a sunny side egg, or a croque madame, but give me glibbery egg white that is too uncooked, or a yellow of egg that isn’t warm all the way through, and I’ll likely end up nauseous. Which is a bummer, since I also don’t like overcooked eggs.

Given the ‘basicness’ (no, that is not a proper word) of making eggs, it seems strange and at the same time completely logical to have a recipe for scrambled eggs. I like herbs in my scrambled eggs to reduce my fear (see above) of a too eggy flavor. It’s not a new idea – recipes of herbs and some form of cheese abound. Here are a few of my favorites: 101 cookbooks has a great herby cream cheese version. Just the pictures make you hungry. There’s also this lovely chevre and spring greens recipe. Mmmm, chevre. My aunt makes what are called buttered eggs around here with fresh chilis and salt, folding them over and serving them on toast or english muffins. Mom makes an excellent version that is a cross of a scrambled egg and an omelet, where she beats the egg with her mixer until the egg is super fluffy then she cooks it. She might drop a chili in there, either splitting it in two or dicing it finely. It’s all up to the recipient and how spicy they eat their food. It’s so delicious and fluffy – oh, I should call her version a scramlet. Sounds fancy, right? Lololol.

If I loved soft-boiled eggs, I’d so be all over these soft eggs buttery herb-gruyere toast. I mean, it’s a Smitten Kitchen recipe. You know I love those. Soft-boiled eggs are pretty much a Sunday breakfast or invite-guest-for-Sunday-brunch kind of food among my friends, how unfortunate for me. Oh, and you’ll easily find soft-boiled eggs on a breakfast menu in Germany. Which reminds me of the time we were Eurailing with my cousins. We arrived in Zürich in the early morning, and after some wandering around we decided to grab breakfast. I don’t remember what all we ordered, but I do remember that one of my cousins ordered eggs. Well, he hadn’t paid attention, and so he gave is egg a lovely knock against the side of the plate. You can imagine what happened – yes, he had an eggy mess in his hand. And he was pretty shocked that people would even order soft-boiled eggs for breakfast. Ha.

egg juggling as a metaphor for life from Calvin & Hobbes

Other fun facts apart from the Beatles and scrambled eggs can be found here.

6 Comments

  1. I really enjoyed this post. It’s so interested to think of something like scrambled eggs as being such a ‘gourmet’ difficult thing to make. I know my mom usually adds milk to the eggs before she makes them, and that helps. I like your ideas too though.

    Reply

    1. I learned the adding milk to the eggs method too. I’ve since been informed that you should be careful not to add too much milk to your eggs. The things you learn…

      Reply

  2. I know that it may sound crazy but you ought to have tried it -. mean the soft cooked eggs (3 mins) with pepper and salt with a toast alongside for a breakfast. That’s great and that is how they are served mostly in Germany, Austria and Switzerland. Do risk a trial-eggs must be rather fresh!

    Reply

    1. 3 minute soft cooked eggs? Hmm, I have to try that. I’m always trying to figure out the right timing, but I’m usually a bit off…

      Reply

  3. Soft boiled eggs have always been a staple in our family. I haven’t had a fancy gryere version!

    We call them ‘dippy eggs’ – you know, coz you dip the toast into them!!

    Reply

    1. Oh, dipping toast? That’s a good idea! I think then the eggy taste wouldn’t be quite as intense. Thanks for the suggestion!

      Reply

Share your thoughts

