My cousin rocks

Do you have family members who are just awesome? Who just randomly call you, just to say “I’ve been thinking about you and I hope you’re doing well. Is there anything I can do to help?” (Shoutout to Arul right here). Yes? No? I mean, don’t get me wrong, things can just as easily crazy, and annoying, and there may be quite a bit family drama. And then there’s the aspect of personalities. For example, I seem to always – ok, almost always – clash with one of my cousins. We just get annoyed and grumbly at each other, but that doesn’t mean that we like each other any less. I guess that’s true for just about any family – some people you like, some people you fight with, and some people you’d rather not see again. Yes, I have some those relatives too, but fortunately I’m not close to them (obviously), nor the rest of the family.

Yup, that’s our family tree – my sister’s idea, and I love how it turned out. Btw, it’s really hard to get a baby’s handprint when it wants to curl up its fingers, even when it’s sleeping

I have bazillions of relatives. That has to do with my grandma being one of 14 children, and my Dad one of 9. Then you add in other relatives with multiple children, and I end up having 19 first degree cousins. Don’t even ask me how many second degree cousins I have. I have no idea. I always have to ask “who is their parent/sibling/child” so I can somewhat figure out who they’re talking with. And there also those relatives who have the same names, making life even more complicated. Then you have relatives like my brother-in-law’s sister-in-law’s sister, who is a friend, and to whose wedding I was invited to. I have a whole bunch more relatives like that. Btw, my Gran is turning 90 this year, so you can imagine the insanity of relatives turning up there. Still, she wants everyone to come. No idea where we’ll all fit. Yes, that’s another Indian thing, at least in my extended family – people come into town and will ‘naturally’ stay with you, how distantly your related – or not – to them, no matter how little or how much space you have. It’s an expectation and it’s very difficult to convince people otherwise

You’re probably asking yourself how all this relates to knitting. Well… I haven’t knit many garments. I’m intimidated by the whole shaping and customizing thing, and figuring out the right size and negative/positive ease and so on and on. I wanted to go to the fibre space workshop “Fit to Flatter” with Amy Herzog, but it fills up so ridiculously fast, I didn’t make it into the class – again. Enter my cousin. Well, he works at a startup in the education field, at Udemy. They offer online courses, including craft courses, some free, some not. He told me about Craftsy, and gave me a course as a gift. I of course chose “Fit Your Knits” by Stefanie Japel.

www.craftsy.comI have to say, Craftsy is awesome. I haven’t spent a lot of time on the website, but I love the fact that the courses are online. You can watch – and rewatch the courses, your access doesn’t expire. The Fit Your Knits course consists of 11 lessons, on a whole bunch of different aspects of garment fitting and modification. One of the lessons is called assessing the pattern which I think will be really really helpful. I mean, how often do you look at a pattern or a finished object, and you wonder how it’ll fit and if it’ll work for your body shape. And then they also have workshops which is pretty ingenious, since it is basically a combination of a pattern with a tutorial by the designer, and the possibility to ask questions.

The best part is that not only do they have a bunch of different knitting courses, they also have other courses, on crocheting (of course!), quilting, sewing, gardening and food crafts. Really neat, I’ll definitely have to try out some other courses.

There are other great craft websites out there, I’m sure. I’ve heard of Craftfoxes, Craftser of course , DIY Network and so on. If I’ve left one out that you think I should absolutely include, let me know. I’m planning on putting up a separate page on useful craft websites, as well as a page listing craft blogs and blog hops, so let me know what you’d like to see on there. Happy crafting!

 

2 Comments

  1. I knew that Craftsy existed, but I never thought that it would have anything to teach me. But how to shape garments? I definitely need help with that. I’m going to check this out now, thanks!

    Reply

    1. I think an online course like that would be more helpful than a book. It’s just different, seeing how things are supposed to work out, plus you can also ask questions. I look forward to working with that course

      Reply

Share your thoughts

