Rumpelstiltskin

Heute back ich, morgen brau ich,
Übermorgen hol ich mir der Königin ihr Kind;
Ach, wie gut, dass niemand weiß,
dass ich Rumpelstilzchen heiß

Today I brew, tomorrow I bake;
And then the Prince child I will take;
For no one knows my little game
That Rumpelstiltskin is my name!
(English version)

Spinning straw into gold – now wouldn’t that be something? That’s like the philosopher’s stone where you turn lead into gold. But let’s take a closer look at the Rumpelstiltskin fairy tale: Why did the girl – future queen – have to say that she could spin gold? She just got herself into trouble all on her own. And I never got why she’d only have to spin gold for three days. Why wouldn’t you have her spin gold every day? And why did the Rumpelstiltskin want the baby as payment – was he going to turn the baby into another imp?

Sometimes you come across a yarn that just fascinates you. I was looking at the shelves of a new-to-me yarn store when I came across this little pile of Handmaiden Seasilk. The yarn had a lovely sheen and was so soft. I was curious about the base, and was told that it was a combination of silk and seacell. The seacell is made from seaweed and is apparently also used to treat burn victims, and it’s good against skin problems like eczema. The skein I homed in on was in the colorway Straw and it looked just like gold. Spun gold. I’m sure Rumpelstiltskin would have approved.

I had already admired a project on Ravelry that used the same base in Amethyst that ended up in a gorgeous purple summer scarf. Since I really liked how that pattern showed off the yarn, I decided to make my own golden version. The pattern I used is the Montego Bay scarf pattern. It’s a lacy pattern, knit on a bias – an easy, knit-on-the-run pattern. I used metal needles, but I’d recommend wooden needles for this pattern since the yarn is quite slippery. Oh, and I’d also measure the amount of yarn you want to use for the fringe ahead of time, that way you can use up every last bit of yarn. And the best part is that you don’t have to weave in any of your yarn tails, since they’ll just be part of the fringe. The finished scarf feels great against your skin.

Doesn’t it look like spun gold?
Share your thoughts

