O.M.G.

Hey guys, I’m traveling today & tomorrow. I’ll be back online on the 22nd, so I apologize ahead of time if my response isn’t timely.

I love Potbelly’s chocolate chip and oatmeal cookies. That darn small cookie bag gets demolished really quickly in this household. So, I’ve been looking for a recipe to make my own. I tried to modify my favorite oatmeal cookie recipe, but it turned out a bit too dry (for my taste). I’d made them for my sister as an any-time-of-the-day, satisfy-the-cravings-after-a-nursing cookies after the birth of nephew #1. She really liked them and has been after me to make them again. I wasn’t to thrilled with that version and have since been on the hunt for a better recipe.

So anyway, the other day I was looking for other things to make with pomegranate seeds when I came across this genius recipe by Hidden Ponies for – wait for it – chocolate chip oatmeal pomegranate cookies. Wow. And I learnt some stuff too, apart from finding an awesome recipe. Want to know what? Well, first of all those little pomegranate seeds aren’t called seeds, they’re called arils (always good to learn something new). And second of all, it’s way easier peeling pomegranates in a bowl of cold water. Why didn’t I think of that before?

cookies!

chocolate pomegranate oatmeal cookies – even better than the Potbelly ones!

chocolate pomegranate oatmeal cookies

Guess who is eating warm cookies? Oh the temptation…

These cookies are so fast to make and so delicious. They still pretty soft when you get them out of the other and it’s hard to check the underside of the cookies if they’re a golden light brown, so I’d stick to the time recommended. Let them cool before trying to remove them from the cookie sheet and trying to devour them. Seriously, they’re that good. Prepare for a cookie eating attack.

Second of all, you can reduce the amount of sugar – the chocolate gives it plenty of sweetness. And the last few cookies were basically clusters of chocolate and pomegranate held together with the last little bits of cookie dough, so you can easily reduce the amount of chocolate chips.

The cookies are delicious and chewy (I’m not really a fan of thin hard cookies), and the pomegranate adds a burst of freshness. The others didn’t love them as much – boo – but that meant there were even more for me. My waistline is not happy.

Oh, and I thought that the cookies wouldn’t keep long because of the extra moisture from the pomegranates, but they actually lasted quite a bit (not withstanding my cookie munching), so they’ll easily keep over a week to two weeks (I even found two cookies that ‘someone’ (not me!) had put away in a tin and even though they were three weeks old, they were still good and still somewhat moist).

Try them, and I’m sure you’ll discover a new favorite cookie.

cookies in progress

cookie making steps

6 Comments

    1. Thank you so much for the awesome recipe. I wouldn’t have thought of the combination but now these are my favorite. The bar has been raised for all other cookies.

      Reply

  1. I must try these! I love oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, too, and Pom just adds an extra yummy touch.

    Reply

Share your thoughts

