Got the blueberry blues

Picking your own blueberries. Picking them from a bush in a field that has been bathing in sunshine so that the blueberries are lovely and warm from all that sunshine. Eating fresh and sweet blueberries directly from the bush. Eating as many blueberries as you’re collecting in your basket. Mmmmmmm.

It’s berry season! That means it’s time to make all kinds of berry-licious things – cakes, tarts, muffins, jams, syrup, cobblers, crumbles, pies, waffles, salads and breads. I think I’ve listed all the possibilities but let me know if I’ve forgotten anything. Anyway, time to get picking. And whatever doesn’t get used up you can freeze easily.

I’ve added blueberries to salads before but I haven’t really found a recipe that has wowed me. My favorite thing to make out of blueberries is cake. Ok, cake and jam. But really, cake is a the god of desserts. And blueberries fit in perfectly.

IMG_4917
lime yogurt cake sans blueberry sauce

I made a blueberry sauce to go with this delicious yogurt cake. It was pretty tasty so I didn’t get any pictures of the sauce before we ate it. The original sauce recipe called for blackberries, but I didn’t have any, and so I substituted blueberries. In retrospect I think I should have left out the water, or used a tablespoon at the max. I strained the sauce through a sieve but I should have used an even finer mesh sieve or a piece of muslin instead. As for the cake, it was very yummy. At least I thought so, even the rest of them weren’t wowed by it. Philistines. Oh, and I only had a smaller cake pan so I had a rather tall cake. Which meant that there wasn’t as much of the crust left which was unfortunate since that was the best part.

IMG_4821
The blueberries really make the cake

Then there’s this cake. Well, boy bait. Yes, you’re probably wondering why it’s named that. I have no idea. Actually, some quick googling yielded this answer from Samantha’s Bread and Butter: “Blueberry Boy Bait is a buttery, thin, blueberry cake. It is said the name of this man-luring dessert was coined by a young girl in 1954 after she stole the show in a junior Pillsbury Bake-Off. She named this dessert “Blueberry Boy Bait” because of the effect it had on boys.” Ha, a boy luring cake. How awesome. It really was very tasty – see, I didn’t even take any pictures until this cake was almost all gobbled up. I can also imagine a raspberry or blackberry version. And if you really want to splurge you could always a add a bit of a mix of yogurt and whipped cream or creme fraiche as a topping/side with the boy bait.

Blueberries are easily suited to porridge, especially steel-cut porridge, or to a quick dessert. This one was a quick, last-minute dessert made of a mix of ricotta, blueberries, and a mix of frozen berries, plus a bit of whipped cream on the side.

Blue(s)berry Dessert

I remember Mom making a blueberry cake when I was little. She was making it for guests, and the dough was just too moist so she added some semolina to the dough. The finished cake was so delicious, but she doesn’t remember the proportions since she was fudging it. But here is another cake recipe that sounds really interesting. A moist blueberry cake with light lemon icing from I adore food. It uses a lemony frosting which is great since I love that kind of frosting. And the cake itself looks moist and fluffy. Plus you can use fresh or frozen blueberries, perfect. I’ll make this asap, and I hope it’ll be as delicious as it looks!

Doesn’t this cake look scrumptious?

Next on my plate – blueberry crumble, this one with an oatmeal crust (my favorite kind). And  I’ve eaten blueberry muffins before but haven’t yet found the recipe to end all recipes. Smitten Kitchen has one, and I’ve usually like all of those recipes. But let me know if you have any recommendations!

Share your thoughts

