Olympic Days are here

The 2012 Olympic Games have started! I always get a kick out of the watching the games, especially the Opening and Closing Ceremonies. It’s just a big spectacle, it’s always fun to see what the countries come up with. Plus, it’s always a kind of family event for us, where we gather and watch and comment on the ceremonies together, especially the Opening Ceremonies, where all the athletes are so hopeful and motivated to give their best. Let’s just hope that there isn’t much doping…

Watching the Olympic Games also means prime TV watching time, and so it’s only logical that I multitask and use that time constructively – and knit. After all, I learned to knit during the 2008 Summer Games in Beijing. IMG_3320That was when I tackled my first knitting project – a sampler scarf that I used as a practice project to learn how to knit and purl properly. I did have the advantage that I knew how to crochet a bit, which definitely helped.

Since the athletes challenge themselves, it’s the perfect time to challenge myself as a knitter. And Ravelry helps out, too! Ravelry used to run the Ravelympics, an knitting/crocheting event taking place simultaneously with the Olympics. I didn’t know about the Ravelympics in 2008, so I just plodded along on my own, and I didn’t really get much knitting in during the 2010 Winter Games. So this was going to be my chance to really participate.

If you’re a knitter, and somewhat familiar with Ravelry, you probably know what happened next: The USOC decided that the Ravelympics ‘denigrate’ the Olympic brand. Yup, they did:

We believe using the name “Ravelympics” for a competition that involves an afghan marathon, scarf hockey and sweater triathlon, among others, tends to denigrate the true nature of the Olympic Games.  In a sense, it is disrespectful to our country’s finest athletes and fails to recognize or appreciate their hard work.

What? Uhm, doesn’t the USOC have better things to do? It’s all about the brand, and the money involving the brand and brand licensing. Remember ‘All the President’s Men‘? According to Deep Throat: “Follow the money.” (If you want to know more about that upheaval and the media and blog coverage, just google Ravelympics).

So instead I’ll be participating in the Ravellenic Games. That’s just fine with me 🙂

Now the question is just what to knit? As always, I’m just ‘slightly’ overly ambitious. My original plan was to frog my Fiore di Melanzane shawl and reknit it, making it broader. I already frogged it, getting myself ready to cast on during the Opening Ceremony. But, really, knitting a broad and long stole in just over two weeks? I just don’t think I can manage that. I can keep it as a backup project, in case I really manage to finish my alternate project.

Yeah, so what’s my actual project? It’s the Rockefeller shawl by Stephen West, subject of a current KAL on Ravelry. The first three clues are already out there, and the last one will be up next Friday, so all the pattern will be there in time. The question is just if I can finish the project in time. I think that’s way more realistic than a whole stole.

And if I get that done in time, then I can always continue working on the pea soup blanket as part of the work-in-progress category, or I can actually cast on again for the stole.

Let the knitting begin!

Share your thoughts

