Erin Go Bragh

green color affection shawl

Finally! My Erin Go Bragh shawl is finished!!!! Actually, it’s been finished for a long time. I think I finished it in August last year – or maybe June? I know that my plan was to finish the project during the Summer Olympics, but I’m not sure if I managed. That’s the problem with not writing down pattern notes. But, I know the project has been lingering for a long time since the pictures are from August 2012.

stripes close up

The pattern is Veera Välimäki Color Affection shawl. I jumped on the Color Affection bandwagon, planning to make a green and grey version. The lighter green was so bright, it made me think of Ireland. Hence, the Erin Go Bragh title. But, I wanted the shawl to be a bit bigger to max out the use of the yarn, so I added a few extra wrap & turn sections. Unfortunately I don’t remember the details since I didn’t write down any pattern notes. Apart from that I made the final green border a bit wider, and then finished with an I-cord bindoff. I like the clean look of that bindoff and I made sure to avoid any puckering along the bindoff by using a 4.5mm needle (compared to the 4.0mm needle for the rest of the shawl).

wearing Erin Go Bragh

I really like the finished shawl, although it’s a really big now. Oh, the irony – it’s my own fault after all. The question now is who will get it? It’ll probably end up a gift since I want to give a handknit gift to a friend of mine, and I don’t think I’ll be able to whip one up before I meet up with her next week.

These KALs (knit-alongs, for all you non-knitters out there) are a lot of fun, but they’re mostly fun when you knit at about the same pace as most other people. It’s fun to see how everybody’s projects move along with their different color section. But if you’re really way behind, well, then the temptation to knit something else is just too great. At least for me. Which is why it took me almost 4 months to finish the project, and why I’m only now putting up this post. But now this monkey is off my back. Yay!

Source: etsy.com via Courtney on Pinterest

4 thoughts on “Erin Go Bragh

    • Thanks! Even though it took me forever, I’m really happy with the finished project. I feel like I should have some green beer to celebrate🙂

Share your thoughts

