Bzzz, bzzz, bzzzz: The House Cup

Bee & Dandelion

Knitting and Crochet Blog Week Day One (Monday April 22nd): The House Cup.
A bit like Harry Potter, but not quite, this year’s Knitting & Crochet Blog Week is split into 4 houses. Don your favourite knitted or crocheted hat and let it guide you to which house you will be in. […]

So choose your house. You may be a combination of more than one of these noble beasts, but think about which house best embodies your qualities and declare your place. You can use one of the graphics above to display your house crest, if you like (though this is totally optional).

Post about your crafting outlook/style and why you chose this house. The descriptions have been purposefully written to seem quite vague, but that’s really because they are only the merest starting point to prompt bloggers to write about in which ways they identify themselves within their craft(s).

House of BeeThe options are: House of Bee, House of Manatee, House of Monkey and House of Peacock. Or you could come up with a completely different House. I was wavering back and forth between House of Monkey and House of Bee. Here are the descriptions:

The House of Bee: Bees are busy and industrious, but can flit from one interesting project to the next as bright and shiny things capture their interest.

The House of Monkey: Intelligent and with a fun loving side, Monkeys like to be challenged with every project presenting them with something new and interesting.

Well, as I have usually have a case of Wipitis (for all you non-knitting readers a wip is a work in progress), I decided to stick with House of Bee. I do like to challenge myself and learn new techniques – I still need to finish and steek the V-neck vest for my Dad – but not all the time. Sometimes you just want a brainless knit, you know? I tend to move back and forth between projects – I need an instant gratification project here and there if I’m knitting acres of stockingette in lace. I especially like kid or baby knits or worsted or heavier weight projects (cowls are favorites) as a break in-between.

MadMay 2013 badgeThe ironic thing is, I currently only have one wip on the needles. Ooops. Bee fail. I have a few wips listed on my Ravelry page, but all of them are finished, apart from the antique-y scarf I posted about on Wednesday. The hibernating projects are all frogged. And I still have, oh 7 finished project that haven’t yet been added to Ravelry. Which is why my mileage knit is completely off. So I guess I have been busy as a bee.

I am planning to cast on for a few new projects in the next few days – for the mascot project, a May project for the Madeline Tosh MadMay knit-a-long (KAL), for a stripey project KAL and a Viajante KAL. Yup. I am certifiably overcommitted. Stay tuned for lots of pictures of newly cast-on projects, and lots of  Wednesday Yarn Along posts. And on that note, I’m ending today’s post. Tomorrow, it’ll be all about the mascot project. Leave me a link to your Knitting and Crochet Blog Week posts in the comments, I’d love to see what you’ve come up with!

11 thoughts on “Bzzz, bzzz, bzzzz: The House Cup

  1. Hah, that last paragraph makes it clear. You’re totally a bee. It’s just that you’re a queen bee and most of your offspring recently hatched and few away.

    That metaphor doesn’t really hang together, though, because it implies that those offspring would soon be back carrying nectar and to fawn on your every need.

  2. Totally concur on the brainless knit thing. Sometimes you just don’t want to think. Multiple wips means you have a project for every occasion, so us bees are actually very well prepared!

    • Oh yes – knitting while waiting makes the time fly. I’ve grumbled under my breath plenty of times when my name gets called and I wish I’d have a few more moments to finish my row…

Share your thoughts

