I’ve got some info for you…

Bee Mascot projectHello! It’s Wednesday, which means it’s time for a Yarn Along post. So here’s my most current wip made out of the yarn I showed you yesterday – said Berries & Cream socks. I’m hoping to make some more progress by the end of the week and I’ll share any updates with you as I progress.

As to reading – sorry, I’m not reading much these days. Instead I’m spending a lot of time writing – both online and offline. And of course I’m writing &  experimenting with the blog as part of the Knitting & Crochet Blog Week. So, without any further ado here is today’s assignment:

Day Three (Wednesday April 24th): Infographic
There are many ways of conveying information on a blog; text and images being the two most widely used. Many infographics combine both these elements to provide a visual way of presenting text information. […]

The whole point of this topic is to experiment with infographics as a way of sharing facts, information and ideas, and to explore another tool in a blogger’s arsenal of communication options.

Honestly, I’ve never really thought about making my own Infographic. I’ve pinned a whole bunch of the on Pinterest, so much so that I have a separate board for Infographic pins. When I first read the assignment I started looking for the opt-out post – in the past years there’s been a wild card assignment to swap out a day’s assignment. And yes, while I could just draw an infographic I actually need to have an idea as to what to draw. But I was stuck.

Yarn for the Ravelry queue
waiting to be knit up…

And then I decided to go the House of Bee path. Given that I like to have multiple projects on the needles, I decided to look at my ginormous queue.  I use my queue like an inspiration board. Whenever I come across a pattern I like I just queue it. The first few pages of my queue contain the patterns that I plan to make sooner rather than later. But otherwise my queue is pretty much a mess, so nowadays I also tag patterns. That way it’s easy to look through them and search for, say, a fingering weight sweater patterns if I want to knit a sweater out of Wollmeise. I should go back and tag old projects, but given that my queue is  46 (!!!) pages long – that’s 1375 patterns – that’s not going to happen.

So – I’ve decided to share my knitting evolution with you: How my knitting and knitting skills have progressed, what my queue looks like when looked at more closely, and what actually happens to the projects. Nope, I’m not much of a selfish knitter – most of my projects are gifts. I also started taking a look at the colors I like to work with, but more on that tomorrow.

I hope you enjoy the Infographic! I spent a ridiculous amount of time on it. I bow to all the people who come up with all those gorgeous, complicated Infographics. And mad props to Piktographic – I used their free templates to make this Infographic – it really gives you a great starting point. Then you have all kinds of customization option but you really need to spend some time with elements and layers – like in PowerPoint and Photoshop.

My Knitting Evolution Infographic

Leave me a link to your Infographic in the comments and I’ll swing by and check it out. And all of you Yarn Alongers, here’s the blog hop part: I’m linking up with this week’s Yarn Along, this week’s Tami’s Amis WIP Wednesday and Frontier Dreams’ Keep Calm and Craft on (KCCO) blog-a-long. Check out some of the other awesome wip posts.

Yarn Along

32 thoughts on “I’ve got some info for you…

    • I actually have some other stats, about my stash and the colors distribution, but I figured I’d save that for tomorrow’s challenge

    • I really like it – and it totally reflects my ‘knitting’ behavior too. Actually I think my Ravelry time would be more than 50% of total knitting time…

      • Thank you! I’m using some discounter sock wool I got some years ago. No brand or colour name I could tell you, sorry. But it is simple 4-play sockwool in creamy white and a variegating purple.

      • They get quite fluffy with the seed stitch so I guess I’ll my them and then don’t wear them till fall but thats ok. They’ll be something to look forward too.

      • Yes, definitely! I think that anticipation is definitely part of what keeps us knitting.

        I’m planning to knit those socks too – I have a few multicolored ones that are just too clownbarfy on their own, so that should be a good pattern to break up the craziness. Of course, given that my queue is ginormous it may take a long time until I cast those on…

    • Thanks to Ravelry and the project page, it was really easy to accumulate all that information. Oh, and I love your post and infographics! How awesome is that! And the breakdown of the categories is such a great idea.

    • I really like knitting for others – although I try to be careful when deciding who to knit for. Nothing is worse than spending all that knitting time and love and dedication on a project and then the giftee sticks the project somewhere into a dusty closet…

    • Glad to help out🙂 I didn’t do it for the longest time – I think half my queue is untagged – but fortunately you can easily find things thanks to the advanced search feature…

  1. Quite impressive. Looks wissenschaftlich too. Congrats on your first Infographic. Can be used for PP presentations too.
    dm

  2. You put a lot more effort into learning Piktographic than I did.🙂 One of these days I’m going to sit down and learn to use it properly because I found I really enjoyed the process.

    • I really Piktographic. Yes it’s a pain with all the layers and so on, but you can make so many neat things! And those 6 free templates are good enough for me. I may just do another infographic, some other time…

  3. I’ve been reading through all your blog week posts (it’s late Saturday night now) – what fun! I’m totally taken with the flight of the bumble bee. That was a terrific idea. i think your infograph is totally nifty. I love the graphics. Isn’t it something how much we do in one year? Wow!

  4. I can’t knit or stitch nor make great salads like you. But enjoyed your informative statistics. Keep them up.

    dm

Share your thoughts

