Ghostly whisper

It’s time for another blast from the past. Ok, it’s not that old, but here’s a finished object from 2011. Meet my Ghostly Whisper. It’s a lovely cowl, knit in laceweight yarn. This was my first time knitting with Rowan Kidsilk Haze. I liked it, but boy, the finished cowl fuzzed all over my shirt. Is fuzzed an actual word? Anyway, I feel like you need to take a lint roller along if you wear this cowl. But the yarn is very soft, and very very light. It could just fly away in a light breeze. In fact, I tried to take some ‘floating’ pictures, with me throwing the cowl in the air, but the lighting wasn’t good enough, and as you can imagine, the mechanics were more than a bit challenging. It reminded me of my photography project where we had to ‘photograph’ movement.

I knit this pretty much as written in the pattern. The cowl ended up a bit longer than planned – it fit loosely over my shoulders and draped nicely. I would have liked for the cowl to be just a little bit shorter so it would be a bit more snug around the shoulders. I used the invisible cast on and cast on onto a spare Knitpicks needle. That way it was really easy to graft the ends together. You have to be really careful while grafting to avoid fabric puckering. The pattern suggests to pull the length of yarn through at the end, after the grafting. I don’t think that’s a good idea, given the nature of the Kidsilk Haze. Instead I pulled the yarn through along the way, making sure to keep enough tension, without puckering up the seam.

The cowl has since been rehomed and went to my friend Hanna as a birthday gift. Yay for handknit gifts!

10 Comments

  1. lovely! I’ve got a kidsilk haze project on the go now, but as a new knitter found it very fiddly so its hibernating so i can level up!

    Reply

    1. It really is quite fiddly. I recommend pointy needles – it made it easier to get into the stitches. I have lovely wooden needles where the stitches could just slide over, but the point was just too blunt

      Reply

  2. I’ve always wanted to try Kidsilk Haze but I’ve never been able to find the perfect pattern for it. I definitely love what you did with it, a shame it sheds too much. I actually had that same problem when I tried spinning mohair.

    Reply

    1. Yeah, as soft as mohair is I don’t think I’ll be knitting much with it in the future. Even though the Kidsilk Haze is gorgeous. I think I’ll knit mine up, but I’m not sure if I’ll be buying more…

      Reply

  3. This is so nice, I love how light it is. Thanks for sharing at Showcase Your Talent Thursday! I hope to see you at the next party!

    Reply

Share your thoughts